Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Casio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Feb 11, 2005, 2:43 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Hello,

New member here.

I just received my P600 from Adorama. Firstly, there's something lose inside the camera and it rattles. Secondly, there's no User's Guide included in the box.

I have emailed them and hope all will work out in the end, though this is frustrating!

Have any of you had trouble with a rattleing camera and/or troubles with Adorama?

Thanks for your time,

Hen

henifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 11, 2005, 3:05 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Okay...DUH...the User's Guide is in PDF form on the CD rom disk included in the package. *sigh*...just what I get for not paying attention! :?

Anyhow, the camera still rattles.

Thanks!,

Hen
henifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2005, 9:39 PM   #3
Administrator
 
steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,535
Default

Does the camera function properly? Often people mistake a "rattle" in the zoom lens mechanism as something being loose or wrong with the camera. However, if it is new and you feel it should be replaced then I'd send it back.
steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2005, 9:15 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for your reply, Steve!

Yes, the camera seems to work just fine.

I'm going to call them tomorrow (Adorama). Hopefully, this rattle is normal.

I can'tfind any storeshere in Indianapolis that sells this exact camera, so I can't even go and see if theirs rattles too!

I was hoping someone here had this camera and could tell me if theirs does the same thing.

Thanks again!,

Hen
henifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2005, 10:13 AM   #5
Gic
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 13
Default

The rattle could come from the flash cover.
Gic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2005, 11:26 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Hmmm...interesting, but the rattle seems to be coming from behind the lens.

Hen
henifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2005, 3:25 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 55
Default

Hi,

all of the Exilim Pro´s rattle. Mine does since day one ... about a year now and works fine.

Seems to be a feature - not a bug as it is reported by many people.

Regards - MacSass


MacSass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2005, 7:10 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Am I right in thinking that that Exilims can tell when they're being used in a portrait orientation? If so, perhaps there is a moving part inside that detects this, and rattles if shaken.
SpankyMcSpank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2005, 10:14 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for the replies!

Costomer service at Adorama was very helpful. We communicated via email.

She didn't have any info regarding the rattling, but otherwise the camera works great.

I'm very pleased with it!

Obviously, I've decided to keep it.

Thanks for your help everyone! I've sent the Steve's Digicams url to a number of friends. This site has been very helpful.

Thanks again!,

Hen
henifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2005, 10:18 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 55
Default

Hi,

you are right in thinking that it has in fact an orientation sensor - if this is the noise I´m not sure and even doubt it as I would not expect it to be very mechanical.

Anyway - noise seems normal.

Regards - MacSass


MacSass is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 5:26 PM.