Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Casio

Old May 16, 2005, 1:42 PM   #1

I've been repairing CASIO Cameras for many years. Lately, I've seen lots of CASIO users with lens problems. It took me a little while to figure out what was causing the problem, but it seems I've got the answer.

Problem: Lens Error or Lens gets stuck.

Symptom:
Lens will not extend upon power up or lens is stuck in fully or partially extended position...

Cause: Lens is impeded while trying to extend or impacted while extended.
This is usually caused by one of two circumstances. (1) The user dropped the camera while the lens was extended causing a mechanical failure. (2) The lens attempts to extend while in a pouch or pocket without the user's knowledge. This usually happens when the user is carrying the camera with the battery in. When/if the REC button or power button is pressed accidentally, the lens will attempt to extend but can't. This causes the servo motors to "smoke".

Solution: Replace the lens assembly. This should only be done by a qualified tech.
If you've experienced this you know exactly what I mean. This should clear up any notion that the "Lens Gods" have cursed you. Although this may have appeared to be a mystery, it's always caused by something!
Skelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 22, 2005, 7:11 PM   #2

With this being a fairly common occurance, does the Z750 have a "hold" button like those mp3 players so that buttons are inactivated while not in use? Taking out the battery is a solution, but not a practical one as you would want to be able to use the camera spontaneously and not fiddle around with putting in the battery for shots and removing them when it's stored in your pocket.
dirtbiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2005, 7:42 PM   #3

dirtbiker wrote:
Quote: