Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Casio

Old May 22, 2005, 5:51 AM   #1

Before you buy your next camera take a look at LCD size on the product line up of Canon SD500 and Casio Z750.

http://www.steves-digicams.com/2005_...s/ex-z750.html

Attached Images

viking7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 23, 2005, 6:46 AM   #2

The LCD size was one of the reasons I chose the Casio EX-Z750 over the Canon SD500. However, three things should be noted about the Z750's LCD: no anti-glare coating, lower resolution, no automatic "gain up" on the display brightness in low light situations.

I am a very novice photographer, just point-and-shoot. From my experience with the Z750 (which is limited so far), the lower resolution did not bother me at all. The glare bothered me a little but I have the same problems with my old Canon S110 in bright sunlight. Despite the lack of automatic "gain up", the display brightness can be manually adjusted. In fact, the default setting for the leftand right arrows is to adjust the display brightness.
garnold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2005, 4:47 AM   #3

garnold wrote:
Quote:
no automatic "gain up" on the display brightness in low light situations.

I keep on being confused by this statement... I would have though that in low light situations, you would want the display the "gain down" as when it is dark, you don't need it as bright, and in high light situations you would want the display to "Gain up"....
Anyone care to explain? :-)

muckypup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2005, 6:26 AM   #4

The LCD is very good and clear to me, I cant se any problem with LCD resolution at all.

Any LCD behave similar in bright sunlight. The only way to get a real visible LCD in bright sunlight is by using a electroluminescence LCD type. But this takes too much power and takes too much space.

Old May 25, 2005, 9:25 AM   #5