Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Close-ups

Old Aug 11, 2003, 12:23 AM   #1

Default First pictures with Canon A70

http://fireweed.fotopic.net/show_col...n.php?id=41883

Mostly macro flowers and a picture of my dog
Elle is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 11, 2003, 3:43 AM   #2

Nice, they look very much like the kind of pictures I've been shooting last week. I have my Canon A70 for a bit more then a week now and I love it!

I like the picture of your dog the most, I think overall (some of)your pictures may be a bit too dark. But I'm new to photography, so maybe one of the more advanced photographers around here can comment on this.
Arjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2003, 5:04 AM   #3

Elle,

Excellent start. Arjo maybe correct about the darkness but it may also be due to differences in monitors.

The dog picture is nicely exposed and sharp. The current profile is good but you may want to consider another angle next time by having the dog face the camera a bit more so you can see his/her face.

Some of your flower shots are not fully in focus (008, 038 are examples.) This has to do with DOF (depth of field) which is an indication of the distance between the nearest and farthest object that your camera lens can keep in foucs. For macro pics there is a tendency for the DOF to be small so the near and far parts of the flower are sometimes out of focus. Manipulation of the F-stop manually solves some of this.

The two blue flowers are a good shot but you can possibly improve the impact of your composition by concentrating on only one of them.

Practice, practice and more practice gives you a better feel for the camera and it's DOF, lighting and which composition techniques provide more impact.

Good luck. Aloha
selvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2003, 10:03 AM   #4