Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Close-ups

Old Dec 21, 2007, 5:17 PM   #1

I was finally able to see the moon after a week of rainy weather. It was about 75% full.

Nikon D300 w/ Tamron 200-500mm taken at 500mm(750mm 35mm equivilant) f/13 1/250sec Tripod mounted.

Last edited by smac; Jan 30, 2014 at 12:08 PM.
smac is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 22, 2007, 7:13 AM   #2

wow SMAC , Very sharp & Clear picture.

Thanks for sharing

Liu
mcliu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2008, 7:34 PM   #3

I am by no means an expert, but to my old eyes, this is one of the best moon shots I have seen.

I don't have a big enough lens, but may try your settings with my 210mm and a 1.7 multiplier and see what I can get.
What was your ISO setting

Flying Fossil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2008, 10:27 AM   #4

Very nice.
Cyberf828 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2008, 8:44 PM   #5

Flying Fossil wrote:
Quote:
I am by no means an expert, but to my old eyes, this is one of the best moon shots I have seen.

I don't have a big enough lens, but may try your settings with my 210mm and a 1.7 multiplier and see what I can get.
What was your ISO setting

Thanks for the kind compliment.
Sorry for taking so long to respond. My ISO setting was 800. The D300 is very, very forgiving at ISO's as high a 3200. The other setting are pretty standard setting for shooting the moon. These are the settings I used when I used to shoot film. They work especially well when the moon is near full stage. One other suggestion, you might try bracketing your shots for best results. I used to bracket both aperture and speed.

Good luck and post your pics,

Steve
Old Feb 17, 2008, 9:35 AM   #6

Good job. I hope to try my new D300 on the moon tonight if it is not cloudy. There is a full moon eclipse on wed Feb 20 if any of you can see it. Our prediction is for clouds and rain but iwould love to see someone post a shot of it.
Caryl