Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Close-ups

Old Oct 8, 2010, 5:59 PM   #1

Default Boronia

Hello friends

I was playing with my Canon 100mm macro lens (love it!) - and here are a few shots from my garden, a lovely boronia bush I planted earlier this year. As it's now spring (in Australia) we've had a wet winter in between planting and now - it's thriving well. I hope it will get through this summer.

The colours and blossoms of this plant I really love. Hope you'll enjoy viewing it too whereever you live. As I'm still new to the world of 'true macro' - any feedback or comments greatly appeciated.

Photo 1, close up, focussing on one small flower.

Paul
Attached Images

pj1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 8, 2010, 6:01 PM   #2

Default Photo 2

This photo has quite a 3D effect, imho. And I like playing with the depth of field.

As the background / light was different from the 1st photo, the colour balance is different. I know I could have used raw to keep the same colour balance.... what are your opinions?

Paul
Attached Images

Old Oct 8, 2010, 6:02 PM   #3

Default Photo 3

Finally for this series, a side on view.

I love the green smooth background & bokeh in this one, as well as the crisp outlines of the nearest flowers' petals.

Paul
Attached Images

Old Oct 8, 2010, 6:06 PM   #4
Super Moderator

paul, nice set.

without knowing the plant in person the color balance is a bit of personal taste i guess. i really like how the 2nd one is isolated from the background and you can see the water droplets.
Old Oct 8, 2010, 8:56 PM   #5

Location: Northeast Passage 10; Gothenburg, Sweden, Northern Europe, Planet Earth, Outskirts of Milky Way, Uni

Paul,

Beautiful, Paul, beautiful. Also learning to use a 100mm macro. I'm not exactly in love with it yet, somewhat platonian love if any, but I have great respect for the lense. Never felt that before. Respect for a lense