Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums >

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jul 15, 2019, 3:52 PM   #1

Default Never edited before, what software?

I just got a Canon 80D. I've never done any post processing before. Truthfully, I'm not sure I want to now but I should at least have the option and capability to do so. I've downloaded the free package Canon gives you when you register a product with them. I'm interested in the easiest to use package that does basics for someone just starting out editing. Oh, and I want it to be easy to use. That's my main factor, easy to use. So, what package(s) should I be researching? Thanks.
Leo_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 17, 2019, 8:34 PM   #2

206 views and nobody has any helpful input to share?
Old Jul 18, 2019, 7:15 PM   #3

G'day Leo

First time I have seen your post - many of us only visit 2 or 3 times each week, so don't give up. Also many others on the list are 'squinters' who seem to pop in then depart for zones unknown, and others are 'too busy' at the moment and decide to come back later ....

Okay - you a) are unsure about the need for editing and b) want to explore it as a topic to see what it does. - both quite okay reactions to your photography

Firstly - is there a need for editing? ... after all, you've got a great beaut camera which has heaps of features all working to give you a beaut photo. In my experience, yes- 98% of my day-to-day pics are okay straight from the camera, but there are occasions when the camera's best efforts maybe need a bit of fine tuning.

You will know from your picture taking ... with a landscape for example, if you point the camera down a bit you will get quite different exposure settings from pointing the camera up a bit - and when you view the result on the computer screen it might be 'perfect' or it might be a bit light or dark. This is where some of us do some fine tuning