Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Flash (External)

Old May 28, 2003, 11:31 PM   #1

Default I'm confused about flashes and sync cords with C-5050z

I own the c-5050z. I also own Nikon's SB-50DX and their SC-17 cable. I know that these accessories are not Olympus but wondered if they work. Well, I used them several days ago. My results were generally 50/50. Some photos are fine while others were either underexposed or overexposed. Sometimes the speedlight would not fire at all. I'm not that experienced in using flashes in manual mode, which is what you need to do with this setup.

I don't want to buy the expensive FL-40 dedicated flash but I do want a good one that will take photos utilizing the same "auto" capabilties as the built-in flash. What would you recommend? Do I need the proper sync cord? what is a sync cord? what's the FL-CB04? Is this what I need?

I'm just looking for some TTL and/or Auto abilities?

Kareem
Kareem is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 29, 2003, 12:58 AM   #2

Default Re: I'm confused about flashes and sync cords with C-5050z

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kareem
I own the c-5050z. I also own Nikon's SB-50DX and their SC-17 cable. I know that these accessories are not Olympus but wondered if they work. Well, I used them several days ago. My results were generally 50/50. Some photos are fine while others were either underexposed or overexposed. Sometimes the speedlight would not fire at all. I'm not that experienced in using flashes in manual mode, which is what you need to do with this setup.
The 50/50 is due to the fact that the c-5050z does not transmit the TTL signals that the SB-50DX needs. Consequently, the SB-50DX will act alone without any help from the camera.

Quote: