Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Flash (External)

Old Oct 27, 2006, 12:53 PM   #1

I recently purchased a Sigma EF500 ST DG for my Canon Digital Rebel XT and I also bought a Sto Fen diffuser.

I am really new with flash photography and would appreciate someone sharing their wisdom with me.

I grasp the bounce flash concept.

It seems like most of the time when I use the Sigma flash,I wind up with serious overexposures. The attatched pic is an example. It was taken in a meeting room, no outside lighting, fluroscent lighting, Sigma 28-70 f2.8 at 70mm lens, the sigma flash with diffuser and the flash pointed straight upat the ceiling which is white ceiling tile and teh ceiling height is about 10 feet. I was about 20 feet from the subject in this picture. Adjusting the flash head downward slightly increases the overexposure problem.

Use of the diffuser also seems to increase the over exposure issue and I thought it would do the opposite by providing more even lighting. I do have the flash compensation setting on the camera set to underexpose slightly and teh flash itself is set for TTL

All that said can someone give me some rule of thumb guidelines? It there a way to tone down the flash strength?

Would appreciate any comments.

Thanks.
Attached Images

davidreeves is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 27, 2006, 5:49 PM   #2

Yes there is a way to tone down the flash strength. I don't own that flash, but the manual should tell you how.
Old Oct 27, 2006, 9:33 PM   #3

I bought it second hand and it didnt come with a manual so Im sort of stuck
Old Oct 28, 2006, 9:50 AM   #4

Hi David,

First thing to do is move your subject farther from the background to avoid the shadows around the ears.

Next is to try using aperture preferred and set the ISO to 100 and F-stop to F/8. Your camera shutter speed should probably be 1/60th. with the flash activated.