Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Flash (External)

Old Nov 30, 2006, 1:34 AM   #1

Reposted from Canon forum:

Greetings fellow Canon shooters Merry Christmas!

I am a husband of one and father of two, and purchased a Powershot G6 two years ago to capture those family moments you want to remember with pictures. That being said because I want you to know I am NOT a professional photographer, and reply much on the automatic settings on the camera to make my pictures look good.

I have played with white balance settings, and timed exposures for night shots and have some really beautiful pics taken this way.

One thing I am utterly sick of is the constant red-eye in my indoor pictures, along with ugly flash lighting. I was told that using an external flash farther away from the lens will help this problem somewhat. For this reason, I would like to purchase a Speedlite before Christmas.

From my research, I like the 430ex due to price and capability, but would appreciate input from you who have actually used these lights. I don't know for sure how much of the technology the G6 will be able to take advantage of, so I didn't want to overspend on features that won't be utilized.

Thanks in advance for your replies! It was Steve-Digicam's review of the G6 that influenced me enough to purchase it, and figured this would be a good place for further advice.

Rob
RobSpook is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 1, 2006, 2:11 PM   #2