Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Flash (External)

Old Dec 12, 2006, 8:41 AM   #1

Hi,

Does anyone have any experience with the Gary Fong Lightsphere 2 flash diffuser ?

I was thinking of buying the Quick flip flash bracket by stroboframe to use with a Nikon SB600 flashgun, when I stumbled across theGary Fong Lightsphere 2 flash diffuser which claims that you don't need to use a flash bracket.

You can check out the website and see photos and sample videos.

http://store.garyfonginc.com/liiido.html

Let me know what you think.

Daz
daz7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 12, 2006, 10:17 PM   #2

I've been using the Lightsphere II now for a couple of months, and I've not pulled the bracket out of the bag in thecloset since the Lightsphere arrived. It does work as advertized. I own an omni-bounce, pocket bounce, I've bounce light off ceilings, but nothing works as well as the Lightsphere. The only question is whether to get the clear or cloud version. I bought the clear versionand love it.

Here are a few examples where I use my 50-200 Zuiko, which would be an equivalent 100-400 zoom in 35mm terms, mainly zoomed towards the long end. Without a bracket or light modifier, I'd get all kinds of "red"eye with this guy..

Greg Chappell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2006, 6:25 AM   #3

Thanks Greg.

The Cloud apparantly gives softer light for portraits.

The clear has a greater power output and is better for larger groups.

They have an accessory called the Chrome Dome for the Cloud version which maintains the soft light while increasing output.

I have been on Gary Fong's website and seen the videos and photos and am quite impressed.

There are a lot of good reviews out there.

I am on the verge of buying one.

Daz
daz7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2006, 7:04 AM   #4