Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Flash (External)

Old Dec 25, 2006, 8:06 PM   #1

Hello everybody,

I'm a newbie here, and if I'm not in the right place, please point me in the right direction.

I have a gig coming up that will require a lot of candid shots with flash -- nothing posed, not a studio situation. I'm looking for tips about how best to handle the lighting -- flash help, accessories, tips -- anything really.

I use a Canon Rebel XT and since I generally do nature work, I don't have any special gear as yet.

Any advice at all is appreciated,
zhak
zhakora is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 25, 2006, 9:38 PM   #2

Does "gig" mean you're being paid for the shots? If so (& they may be used anywhere the public can view them), make sure the people you are shooting know it (a LARGE release sign needs to be posted in plain view near any entrance, saying something like "Photographs are being made here. By entering this area, you are consenting to have your photograph taken and possibly published"....the same thing is what they post in areas where films are being made & the public might get into a shot.

First of all, I would get an off camera dedicated flash that doesn't use a pre-flash. Also get a handle mount for it (like a Strobofram flip-flash) and use a reflector like the one found here:

http://www.stevesforums.com/forums/v...mp;forum_id=53

Practice in the same conditions prior to the shoot so you don't look like a doof. And don't get people to look directly at you when your shooting......nothing looks more like a snapshot than a bunch of people grinning at you when make a shot.

Old Dec 30, 2006, 8:45 AM   #3

Hi Zhak,

Get a stroboframe pro-T(10 inches)or a Press-T( 8 inches)bracket which will get the flash10 or8 inches above the lens. You will need a TTL sync cord to attach the flash to the camera.