Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Flash (External)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Mar 20, 2007, 6:44 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 112
Default

I copied this thread and put it in my camera bag.


stevem1928 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2007, 7:19 PM   #12
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Savannah, GA (USA)
Posts: 22,378
Default

Short Version:

Set the camera and flash to match for ISO speed and aperture for the Auto Range selected on the flash. Pick a reasonable shutter speed that lets in (or keeps out) the amount of ambient light desired, with around 1/100 second making a good starting point for many indoor conditions if shooting at lower ISO speeds. Shoot within the distances shown for the Auto Range (taking ceiling height/type into consideration for distance if bouncing). Set white balance on the camera to match the flash (probably around 5500 degrees Kelvin, or try the Flash or Daylight presets). Take some test shots, check exposure and histogram and adjust exposure settings on camera or flash if needed. Have Fun!


JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2007, 9:44 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 112
Default

I have been real happy with this flash. It seems like I am getting the same results as the Sigma Super 500 (I have been borrowing a friends). The manual Quantaray is slower, since I have to stop and think about the settings. But the final result seems to be good. I just won't be able to flip it on and snap without thinking. I ordered a slave for it a few days ago.
stevem1928 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 7:48 AM.