Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Flash (External)

Old Aug 21, 2007, 3:24 PM   #1

Hi there, I am a complete newbie when it comes to external flashes...i am seriously thinking about getting the canon 430 EX for my camera(S5) but have a question...i have been reading up on it and realize the benefits of indoor photography and fill flash in daylight, but what i am not sure of is how it would affect my nightime pics....We are headed to DL in a few weeks, and am wondering if the flash would help me at all in my pics there in the dark...Also, is it a huge help indoors taking action shots...my oldest daughter cheerleads and my son plays hockey and of course, getting great shots indoors is difficult(without a dslr)...i just wondered if it would help with these pics also...my youngest daughter plays soccer outdoors, thankfully i can get great pics already here...thanks of any and all advice of buying this flash...for the amount of money i just want to make sure it is really worth it...Also, are they really hard to figure out how to use or are they pretty straightforward...i appreciate anything anyone could tell me...thx

sharon

jakoky is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 31, 2007, 5:45 AM   #2
Super Moderator

The 430 is pretty straightforward and I use mine on auto pretty much all the time and let the camera (30D and 5D) sort out what it needs to be on. I'm not sure how it will work out with the S5 but probably going to be fine.

As for indoor sports it is going to help out but will still depend how far you are away from your children and I've never had to use mine indoors for sport to be able to give any examples.

When you say nighttime pics, what sort of things are you taking photos of?
Mark1616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2007, 3:12 PM   #3

Sharon,

like you, I've never used an external flash. I just ordered the 430 EX for my S5 and once it gets here I'll let you know how hard (or easy) it is to figure out.

JG