Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Flash (External)

Old Dec 2, 2007, 11:34 AM   #1

Hye there..

I'm a newbie ready to enter the world of Flash photography.. Before I invest, I was just wondering...

Is the Sigma EF-500 DG Super worth investing in? I know it's GN is so much higher compared to the Speedlite 430EX but in sense of reliability which is better?

I've read many reviews on the Sigma but there are so many mixed issues. Some say it's a very good flash while others say it can't last and has lots of reliability problems. This makes the choice more confusing.

Where as the 430EX is a manufacturer's model which has higher reviews on reliability and performance. The only thing lacking is that is does not have the master/slave, and it has a much lower GN.

I'm a casual photog just needing the flash unit for abit of extra lighting or creativity. Also on a low budget so the only 2 candidates for my next purchase are these 2 models (please don't suggest the 550EX/580EX/580EXII - way over my head(budget) there..hehehe)
hazmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 2, 2007, 5:20 PM   #2

Well, Canon has a rebate now on the 580 II. :blah: I have the Sigma Flash and have found only one problem with it. If you shoot around 15 shots with the flash in too short a period of time, it wants to stop and cool off. However, the manual for the 580 II sez it will only do 20 shots before resting.
The Canon is a better flash, but for occasional use, the Sigma should be fine.
Ron
surfnron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2007, 8:57 PM   #3
NHL

hazmy wrote:
Quote:
I've read many reviews on the Sigma but there are so many mixed issues. Some say it's a very good flash while others say it can't last and has lots of reliability problems. This makes the choice more confusing