Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Flash (External)

Old Jun 4, 2008, 4:37 AM   #1

I'm not new to photography but the selection of flashes is confusing.

I have a Pentax IST Ds and I will be photographing a wedding this month. I was considering getting a better flash but not sure which type would suit me best (dedicated, dedicated/slave, or slave)

My budget is around $100. I would like to stay under $75 if possible. So I was shopping around B&H and I have a selection to choose from. The issue I have is that flashes for digital Pentax seem to be EXTREMELY difficult to find because of the preflash function of the camera, and lack of PC connector. (TTL vs. p-ttl)

I am still learning about how this camera utilizes different flashes with different type lenses, and it's confusing. Basically I want a TTL slave flash, but with this would I have to go with a dedicated?

Excuse my ignorance, but will these work with the IST DS?> SunpakAuto 355 AF TTL Shoe Mount FlashSunpak | Auto 355 AF TTL Flash | 035P | B&H Photo Video

SunpakMZ-440AF TTL Shoe Mount FlashSunpak | MZ-440AF TTL Shoe Mount Flash | 0440P | B&H Photo Video

PentaxAF220T TTL Shoe Mount Flash
Pentax | AF220T TTL Shoe Mount Flash | 30307 | B&H Photo Video

BowerSFD829TW Digital Slave Twin Flash
Bower | SFD829TW Digital Slave Twin Flash | SFD829TW | B&H Photo

BowerSFD328 Digital Slave Flash
Bower | SFD328 Digital Slave Flash | SFD328 | B&H Photo Video

PhoenixD92-BZS Digital Slave Flash
Phoenix | D92-BZS Digital Slave Flash | P04219 | B&H Photo Video
aweir is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 4, 2008, 8:18 AM   #2
Administrator

If you want a flash to be aware of your camera settings, it's my understanding that you will need a newer "designed for digital" type flash that supports P-TTL (and that rules out everything in your list).