Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Flash (External)

Old Jul 23, 2008, 8:20 AM   #1

I have a Canon EOS400-D and am a little disappointed with the built in flash as I get a lot of shadows due to its limited range. I'm about to buy a BG-E3 pack and would like a decent flash gun. I'm swaying between the

Canon 430EX Speedlite
Sigma EF530 ST DG EO-TTL
Sigma EF530 ST DG EO-TTL Super
Jessops 360AFD Digital Flashgun

I know the Speedlite is likely to be the bets but its also the dearest I have a Sigma 70-300mm lens and its great quality for the money and for me asa novice. If anyone has any thoughts I'd much appreciate them.

Please remember I'm new to all this...VERY new!

[sup]
[/sup]

grocerjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 24, 2008, 8:52 AM   #2
NHL

grocerjack wrote:
Quote:
I have a Canon EOS400-D and am a little disappointed with the built in flash as I get a lot of shadows due to its limited range. I'm about to buy a BG-E3 pack and would like a decent flash gun. I'm swaying between ...
You're getting the shadow not because of its limited range but because of its position!

The idea of getting a more powerful external flash is to bounce it off some larger surface which you couldn't do with a weaker unit like the built-in flash. Bouncing the flash diffuses the shadow as the light now come from a larger area and it also re-orients the shadow (usually downward) so the camera won't detect the shadow; However, bouncing also robs away output power from the flash unlike a direct pulse, so the more power the merrier... (i.e. higher or darker ceiling etc)

-> The model number designator on each flash tell you how much power each is putting out according to its Guide Number (GN) in meter:
GN = distance x aperture

In this case
Canon 430EX Speedlite - GN is 43
Sigma EF530 ST DG EO-TTL - Gn is 53
<- almost the power of an 550EX for the cost of a 430EX
Sigma EF530 ST DG EO-TTL Super - GN is 53
Jessops 360AFD Digital Flashgun - GN is 36