Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Flash (External)

Old Jan 1, 2009, 9:35 PM   #1

I am new to using external flashes, so please bear with me here. Quite some time ago I won a beautiful Canon 480EG flash, but it didn't come with the necessary battery pack to run it, so I never used it. After becoming more serious with my photography, I hunted down a battery pack and finally had all the pieces to make this beautiful monster work. Unfortunately, it won't work with my digital rebel (the original model). It won't fire at all with the camera in any setting. It test fires fine. It also fires on my film Elan. Any solutions on how to make this work with the rebel, or is it not even possible? I am looking to upgrade to a 40D soon, and was wondering if this flash will work with this camera, or if I need to purchase a new flash too? Seems a shame to let this one go to waste.

In case anyone is wondering, I have a sunpak 522 which fires fine from the hotshoe on the rebel, so the problem isn't with the hotshoe...
images by mlp is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 2, 2009, 4:17 AM   #2

How is your 480 connected to the Rebel? Do you have a shoe adapter for it?
Abs.Abando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2009, 6:32 AM   #3

Yes, it has a cord that runs from the camera's hot shoe to the flash. The cord is also brand new.
Old Feb 10, 2009, 2:43 PM   #4
nkg

The 480EG is a TTL-only flash and thus can't be used with any EOS digital camera in automatic mode.

However, the 480EG does support autoflash, and *should* work in that mode, but you need the Synchro Cord 480 for that to work.

What country are you in?
nkg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2009, 9:59 PM   #5

I am not shooting in any automatic modes. I am in the US.
Old Feb 10, 2009, 10:01 PM   #6

I have the cord that came with the flash that goes from it to the hot shoe.Not sure if that is the cord you are referring to?
Old Feb 11, 2009, 7:31 AM   #7