Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Flash (External)

Old Jan 2, 2009, 9:15 PM   #1

I apologize if this is an old topic, as it seems to be somewhat prevalent on the internet. I am having a problem with my A350 and the on-board flash with subjects with closed - or partially closed eyes. I have done a lot of reading on this matter, and it seems I am not alone. It looks like I need to buy a flash that will help overcome the problem, although I sometimes wonder if it's just my picture taking skills. I have had quite a number of cameras, mostly P&S, but also include an Oly E510. I never had this problem before. So I really don't think it's all me.

I am leaning towards a Metz 58, as I understand it has a flash mode that does not use the camera's pre-flash which seems to be the culprit in the closed eye syndrome. Are there any other Metz flashes that might suit me better? Or for that matter, another type of flash better suited that the Metz.

I am not a professional, and this is just a hobby. I realize the Metz may be a little expensive, but I am looking for a decent quality flash that will help me with this problem. I haven't had a flash fo a while now, but the last one was a sunpack with my old Canon EOS-650. It was nice, although I can't remember the model.

Any suggestions will help.......

Doug
saltyjd is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 2, 2009, 11:54 PM   #2