Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Flash (External)

Old Mar 5, 2009, 10:00 PM   #1

I need serious help this time because I try to shoot one of my chef's wedding on April and it is free. This is my first time for wedding photography and I need advice for lighting setup. I own an Canon 580 ex2 flashgun and will use my 5D w/24-105 and 70-200 as main camera, my Sony A700 with 16-80 and a FM56 flash as my backup.
I had read a lot of online articles about multiple wireless flash setup ( I need portable and most important - budget ). Can I use 2 580 ex2 for main and fill light and a 430 ex as a back light? I know they have different guide numbers. What about just 2 580 as main and fill light with a remote trigger and receiver? or use 3 580 ex2? or a monolight kit?
Thanks for any advice as I shoot mostly restaurant food and promotion event and I do not have any experience for studio lighting.

Chefkenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 6, 2009, 10:02 AM   #2
Super Moderator

If this is your first wedding just keep it simple. You will have enough to think about with getting the right shots let alone using a multiple flash setup. I shoot with a 5D and 24-105 and EX580 for main and 1D mkIII,70-200mm f2.8 ISwith 430 as secondary.

I do no more than this as a weddingis fast pacedenough without moving additional strobes. If you had an assistance who knew your process and setups well then you could do it but my advice is don't burden yourself.

Sospend your time working out the shots, poses etc that you want and the camera settingsto do this. If you get a chance find some willing volunteers to assist you as you pose them and see what works and what doesn't. Also you will need to be looking at the clothing of the people you are shooting, is the brides dress nice, is the collar of the groom matching both sides.....etc etc.