Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Flash (External)

Old Mar 19, 2009, 8:12 AM   #1

Hi, I bought Sanyo Xacti HD700 while ago otherwise it is good hybrid video and still picture camera, but it has bad red-eye problem when using flash, it doesn't have any pre-flash or double flash which could prevent red-eyes in pictures. There is automatic correction inside camera but it doesn't always work and I don't like to edit any photos with computer afterwards. I just want to watch pictures directly from camera or through TV. Should I get external slave-flash, does it help to reduce red-eye problems? What kind of slave-flash is good for reducing red-eye effect, is Metz mecablitz 28 CS-2 good? I have never used external flash before so I would like to hear some experiences before buying expensive flash unit which might not work at all.
Quenaelin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 19, 2009, 4:36 PM   #2

A slaved external flash might cut the red-eye, but if the camera's flash still is the dominate light source, it might not. You will also have to use manual settings and experiment a fair bit to get the exposure right since there will be no information sent to the flash beyond a simple FIRE NOW signal.

Flash is a right royal pain in the posterior and best avoided whenever possible.
BillDrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2009, 5:37 PM   #3

I think the problem with the HD700 is the flash is right next to the lens. If your subject is looking at the camera, all that light is going straight to the inside of their eyes with all those red blood vessels and bounce straight back to the camera.

An external slave flash can reduce the red-eye depending on where you place it. You could put a white piece of paper in front of the camera's flash to keep the light away your subject and redirect it to trigger your external slave flash.