Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Flash (External)

Old Oct 26, 2009, 4:47 PM   #1

Default Newbie Help: Third-Party Flash w/ Nikon D60

Hey guys,

I am a newbie to DSLR Photography and I needed some help. I just bought the Yong Nuo YN460 flash from eBay. I connected it to Nikon D60. The flash does work and it does go off but for some reason, the shutter speed is still the same as if there was no flash and the results with the flash and without the flash are identical!

This is in both the P mode and the Auto. Basically, the flash fires but the shutter speed is still long so the flash doesn't do anything for the picture.

What am I doing wrong here? Any help will be appreciated!
GadgetAddicted is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 26, 2009, 5:05 PM   #2
Administrator

From what I can find out from a quick search about it, that's a strictly manual flash (in other words, it's not smart enough to communicate with the camera you're mounting it on, except for triggering purposes). Here's one reputable hong kong based vendor that stocks it:

http://www.gadgetinfinity.com/produc...roductid=17203

So, you'll probably need to use manual exposure on the camera, setting ISO speed and aperture to match the power level of the flash for subject distance, adjusting your shutter speed to let the desired amount of ambient light into the image.
JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2009, 5:20 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimC View Post
From what I can find out from a quick search about it, that's a strictly manual flash (in other words, it's not smart enough to communicate with the camera you're mounting it on, except for triggering purposes). Here's one reputable hong kong based vendor that stocks it:

http://www.gadgetinfinity.com/produc...roductid=17203