Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Flash (External)

Old Nov 25, 2003, 5:16 AM   #1

Default I need basic info PLEASE!

I have an Olympus 2020 with a PC sync port.

I'm trying to educate myself about the best external flash option available and am really confused.

I'm a Realtor and use a wide angle lens to take photos of small rooms in houses. I fight with the "dark shadow" problem.

What is the simplest solution for the non-professional? I don't understand the difference between external flash options. I see some that sit on the table, some that are attached to a "gizmo" bracket that attaches to the camera (wouldn't that be really heavy?) some use a cable, some don't . . .. . some are triggered by the camera? Beware of the "second flash syndrone?" I'm sooooo confused.

Any explanations and/or recommendations would be greatly appreciated.
jpainter is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 25, 2003, 11:20 PM   #2

I can't offer much help, but here is something I have learned.

If you trigger an off camera flash with your built in flash, you will hit what I believe you are refering to as "second flash syndrome". The problem is that to properly meter the scene, the flash fires once first and then meters the scene. That tells it how much power to use for the main (big) flash. The problem is that the first flash will trigger the off-camera flashes and then they won't fire when the picture is actually taken. So you'd need a flash that can be told to skip the first flash pulse and then fire on the second. If your camera supports some varient of TTL, then it should work.

For wide angle pictures I believe you either need a defuser (I think that is what its called) so that the flash will cover a wider area or you will need multiple flashes.

Hope that helps.

Eric
eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2003, 3:28 AM   #3

Default Re: I need basic info PLEASE!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpainter