Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Flash (External)

Old Dec 7, 2003, 10:19 AM   #1

Default Speedlite 420ex on Canon G2

I've read lots of positive comments about this flash unit. Most are very technical and beyond my realm of expertise. I'm an inexperienced photographer and tend to shoot primarily in Auto mode. With this in mind, is this the flash unit I should be looking at? That is, is it versatile in Auto mode or am I wasting my money?
johnny999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 7, 2003, 10:30 PM   #2

In terms of size vs. body the 420EX is hands-down a great unit for the G-series. With my G5 it works great and the size seems to be made just for the G5- even zooms to the correct focal length as I zoom the lens in and out. The G5 is my first foray into the Powershot G-series, so I would have to go back and see how the EX units work with the earlier technology of the G2. If it works the same as it does with the G5 you would be well advised to get one. The quality of the light you'd get compared to the built-in unit would make you wonder why you ever waited to get one, and best of all there's no need to know why or how it works so well, it just DOES most everytime.
Greg Chappell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2003, 2:29 PM   #3
TJ

Default I have the same problem.....

I have a G2 and will be purchasing a G5 in the very near future. I ordered a Canon Speedlite 420EX yesterday, but now I am wondering if I should have ordered the 550EX instead. I am by no means a professional. But, I do want good results from using an external flash when taking pictures. I don't know if I would ever have a need to use manual mode on a flash. Is the 550EX overkill for the G2 & G5 digital cameras, and a novice like me? Did I make the right decision in ordering the 420EX, or should I cancel my order and order the Speedlite 550EX instead? :?

Thanks in Advance,
TJ
TJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2003, 5:51 PM   #4