Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Flash (External)

Old Jun 23, 2010, 5:53 PM   #1

Default New Vivitar 383 stuck at 55mm?

I just bought a new Vivitar 383 external bounce flash for my Sony Alpha camera. I love the flash so far, I'm still learning it, and I have a question. When it's on auto, it seems to always think that I'm 50mm away? It always says 55mm on the screen unless I go to manual. It has auto-focus, right?

Thanks.
Old Jun 23, 2010, 9:28 PM   #2

That number is not the focus distance, it is the lens focal length. If you are using a zoom lens, it should change when you zoom in or out. If you are using a fixed focal length lens, it won't change automatically. There is, I believe, a table showing distance in feet and meters, which should indicat the maximum distance at which the flash will be effective for the camera setting chosen. The flash doesn't actually focus, but it does change the width of the beam to correspond to the lens focal length. (sort of changes focus)

brian
VTphotog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2010, 3:34 PM   #3

Ok. Thanks for your help. I do have a zoom lens, but when I zoom in or out it doesn't change. Most pictures it's fine, but if I'm taking a photo of something that is close up, with the flash pointed at the ceiling, the lighting is really over-exposed.

I'm still learning...
Old Jun 24, 2010, 10:32 PM   #4

When you tilt the flash out of the straight ahead position, the automatic zoom function is disabled, since the program for it is not able to know how far what you are bouncing the flash off, is from the flash or the subject.
If it doesn't work with the flash in the straight ahead position, with the camera in an automatic exposure mode, then I would say you have a bad flash, or the pins on the flash are not making contact correctly with the hotshoe.