Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Flash (External)

Old Jan 4, 2013, 9:05 AM   #1

Default External mounted flash

Me again

Ok so having purchased my first lens, my next purchase will be an external flash as i'm guessing i will need it if i am to prevent shadows being cast by the lens.

I haven't a clue what i'm after, i have an Oly E-450.

Now i did a search on ebay and only UK ones that came up and listed compatibility was the YN-460, however i did a quick search on the forum here and saw that its manual only, as i'm a novice i'm thinking that may be a little difficult for me to begin with??

So back to square one, is there a nice flash for a beginner like me, to fit my cam and isn't pricey as i have limited funds left over now!
x Sarah x is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 4, 2013, 10:20 AM   #2

get a flash that is ttl, it is easier to used. Some thing like metz 44 AF-1 or an olympus fl36r or fl600r. Not to many options for olympus dslr out there. But the micro4/3 flashes will work with the olympus dslr with ttl as well.

For not to expensive, the nissin di466 is not to bad and actually pretty nice.

Last edited by shoturtle; Jan 4, 2013 at 10:24 AM.
shoturtle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 2:44 PM   #3

G'day Sarah
Quote:
Originally Posted by x Sarah x View Post
... my next purchase will be an external flash as i'm guessing i will need it if i am to prevent shadows being cast by the lens....
What do you mean by 'shadows cast by the lens'??

More info on what you are trying to do will help

ps- I have the YN460 and enjoy it
Regards, Phil
Ozzie_Traveller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 3:09 PM   #4

I think the built in flash is getting block by the longer lens and casting a shadow on the photos. Getting a higher flash will help relieve that issue if that is the case.

Last edited by shoturtle; Jan 17, 2013 at 11:05 AM.
shoturtle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 9:21 AM   #5

Quote: