Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Flash (External)

Old Aug 29, 2013, 9:34 PM   #1

Default High speed sync flash

I'm new to using flash for shots but I was trying to take high speed shots and use my flash but was limited to 1/250 when I popped up my onboard flash on my Canon 60d. I did some research and found out that I need an outboard flash for the hot shoe that can high speed sync because I want to take some indoor shots at 1/2000 or faster. I read but I'm unsure what kind of flash unit I need that will speed sync with my Canon. I have been looking at the Sunpak PF30X/DigiFlash 2800 E-TTL, but their description doesn't say whether it has high speed sync feature. If a flash unit says it's E-TTL capable does that mean that it can high speed sync? Does the Sunpak PF30X/DigiFlash 2800 E-TTL have high speed sync and if not can anyone give me a list of flash units that have HSS capability that will work with my Canon 60d? Thanks for any help.

1hdr4u.
1hdr4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 30, 2013, 8:21 AM   #2

If you want to freeze motion, High Speed Sync won't necessarily do it for you.

The reason for the limit of 1/250 second for flash is to leave the sensor exposed so the flash can illuminate the scene for the duration of the flash. DSLRs use focal plane shutters that act independently to uncover, and then cover the sensor. The fastest flash sync speed of 1/250 is to ensure that the entire image sensor will be exposed when the flash goes off.

The duration of the flash might be 1/320 second (if the flash isn't very powerfuland/or the scene is very dark) or it can be as fast as 1/80,000 (if the flash is very powerful.)