Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Flash (External)

Old Aug 18, 2004, 8:50 AM   #1

Currently I have a Olympus C-750 digital camera and an old Sunkpak flash. I want to buy Phoenix D91-BZS 4-Stop Digital Slave (btw, what do you think of this flash?) and a Wein PN Peanut Slave (to the old flash).
It seems like my camera has preflash so activating the old sunpak flash (with the peanut slave) with that would mean that it'll fire to early, correct?
Now if I activate the Phoenix flash with the built-in flash and 'hide' the peanut slave behind something so it won't fire at the pre-flash, but on the burst from the Phoenix flash both flashes will fire correctly, right?
Do you think this idea will work at all?
Luthion is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 18, 2004, 9:41 AM   #2

FYI: Wein has a "smart slave cell " that can "drive" your Sunpak correctly (but I have no personal experience with this product)

Luthion wrote: [/b]

Quote:
It seems like my camera has preflash so activating the old sunpak flash (with the peanut slave) with that would mean that it'll fire to early, correct?
correct

Quote:
Now if I activate the Phoenix flash with the built-in flash and 'hide' the peanut slave behind something so it won't fire at the pre-flash, but on the burst from the Phoenix flash both flashes will fire correctly, right?
Do you think this idea will work at all?
2) Absolutely , it will work, but 2 remarks:
a) You don't need any "Wein" or special slave cell for this , a simple cheap 5 box slave cell will do as well
b) The phoenix (and the sunpak if applicable) should be set on manual (or partial power manual mode if applicable) . The auto mode (set with f number) may give unpredictable result sinceeach flash sensor receive light from other source thanfrom the flash it supposes to control.

KCan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2004, 9:46 AM   #3