Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Flash (External)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Sep 1, 2004, 2:34 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 8
Default

Excuse me Kcan,

I hope you can help me with my doubts, please
Guisela is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2004, 4:05 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
KCan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,625
Default

Guisela wrote:
Quote:
I was almost decided to buyVivitar DF200 but I found the following: "Biggest downside is that it's "slave only." This is not to good choice if you're planning to uses your lens adapters indoors. You will need aMANUAL flash for that". I don't know to what is referring to. Is this really a downside?

References again (for commodity)
Vivitar DF200:
http://www.vivitar.com/Products/Flas...ash.html#DF200
Phoenix D91/92-BZS:
http://phoenixcorp.com/Flash/Digital...tal_flash.html
SR Electronics Digislave:
http://srelectronics.com/dsf1s.html

Guisela
In fact I still thinking about those opinion, here my coments:
By "slave only", they probably mean that the Vivitar mounting shoe is just a "cold shoe", with no electrical contact , make I just a mechanical mount.
On the other hand, the Digislave for example, can be used as an ordinary hotshoe mounted and triggered :
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Quote: In addition to being a slave flash for digital cameras, the DSF-1s can also be used as an ordinary 'Hot shoe' flash for any camera digital or conventional with a hot shoe connector. Two automatic and a manual exposure mode are featured.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
IMO, it's not a good choice if you have other cameras which have a hot shoe, they can not use the flash as normal flash. I didn't get the relation to lens adaptor ans the fact it's a slave or not.
If you plan to use it with your coolpix 775 only, or other camera as slave, don't bother.
About "Manual", In the case of the Vivitar, the specs mention:
- 4 Selectable Power Levels (Full, 1/4, 1/8, 1/16)
well, we can't have more "manual" than that
KCan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2004, 4:11 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
KCan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,625
Default

Guisela wrote:
Quote:
I have noticed that Phoenix 91 and Vivitar DF200 are almost the same. am I correct?
I hope the document be helpful for anyone who is looking for a digital slave flash.
Guisela
Still an interrogation for me , may be physically , they look alike , but by the specs:

- The Vivitar has 4 manual power settings, no F stop (auto mode)
- The Phoenix 91 has 4 F stop settings , no manual power settings
I checked the Vivitar manual and it's consistent wit the specs.
http://www.vivitar.com/CustService/d...DF200ManlE.pdf





KCan is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 7:46 AM.