Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Flash (External)

Old Oct 4, 2002, 9:16 PM   #1

Default Questions: Fuji S602 and Sunpak 555

I''ve just purchased Fuji S602 and waiting for delivery.

1. Can I use Sunpak 555 as external flash with 602Z? Any adjustments needed?
2. How do I sync flash with camera?
3. Is there a hotshoe adapter into which I can plug my 555 sync cord? Where can I purchase one?
4. What are the benefits to using this setup?

Thanks. I'm new to digital imagery and need to get up to speed on color balancing, finding hot pixels, etc.

Over the years, I've learned a lot from these types of discussion fora. You guys are all great with your wealth of first hand knowledge and experiences. Look forward to contributing but mostlikely thru hard knocks.
WeekendWarrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 5, 2002, 2:08 PM   #2

"1. Can I use Sunpak 555 as external flash with 602Z? Any adjustments needed? "
- You can use the flash in auto-aperture mode , ie you set the flash in this mode, the cam with the corresponding aperture , speed depends on how you want the background (the cam is in complete manual exposure mode).
- no TTL I think ( other will confirm this, I am not positive since I don't know well the flash and the camera)

"2. How do I sync flash with camera? "
with the hot shoe simply, for sync speed , check the cam manual, usually with digicam, there is no restriction ( can sync with high speed)

"3. Is there a hotshoe adapter into which I can plug my 555 sync cord? Where can I purchase one? "
Yes, it's an "ISO hot shoe to PC adapter" like this:
http://www.pbase.com/image/1964130
(it's the piece on the hot shoe)
you can buy this in any camera store

"4. What are the benefits to using this setup? "
- Much more power than the built in flash
- flash not anymore in the lens axis, less red eyes risk
- "bounce and swivel control for creative lighting effects" as they people said
- you look ... cooler