Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Flash (External)

Old Sep 14, 2004, 1:31 AM   #1

I am living in China and while my Chinese is improving my vocabulary specific to photography is limited to: "camera", "digital camera", and "take a picture". For this reason I have found going to the store to learn about flashes a bit on the difficult side. I am wondering what some things are to look for in a external flash, for a camera with a hot shoe (Fuji S7000 to be specific). I am new to photography, but would like to buy decent quality right at the beginning rather than needing to upgrade (although I don't need the top line quality either). So the question is:

What are important things to look for in an external flash?

In looking on websites it seems that it is good to ahve a flash that can be set on an angle for the "bounce" effect (I believe this is "vertical bounce"). I have also seen the following mentioned:

Guide #

# of f-stop settings

Auto thyristor circuitry

zoom flash head

sufficient light indicator

calculator dial

remote sensor capable

Which of these (or others I have not mentioned) do you think are important. For those which may have different settings and levels, what level do you think is best to buy (Guide #, f-stop settings, etc).

Thank you in advance for your help!

Rob Goll
rgoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 14, 2004, 12:35 PM   #2

Guide number: describes the theoretical maximum flash power. Since you're intending to get an external flash, it means the built in one on your camera is insufficient, hence look for higher GN. However, it's more useful to look at the maximum range of the flash unit.

# of f-stop settings: refers to the automatic calculation capabilities of the flash unit. This is usually irrelevant if your camera has fancy auto flash metering, and you have a compatible (usually same brand) flash unit.