Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Flash (External)

Old Nov 6, 2002, 8:11 PM   #1

Default White shiny faces on close-up shots of people- Why?

Can anyone tell me why I sometimes get real white shiny faces when I take closeup pics of people. And other times the faces are very good and natural looking. These are all flash pics taken with Dimage 7 and Minolta 3600 flash.
Paul Rothel is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 7, 2002, 4:08 AM   #2

Well hello.
I am not a flash expert. Use mine internal flash of sony 707 since a view months but:

The faces probably reflect too much light back to the ccd-chip. All white/light surfaces do so.
A way to solve this is the differt/diffuse the flash.
How: -1 use a light translument paper and place it before the flash.
-2 If you have an external flash, point it towards the ceiling, a wall and not on the subject. Flash will now be smoother.

I have maded for my sony a plexiglass plate that fits around the lens. 2-3 cm above, and 4-5 under the lens. With this 'diffuser' i have very smooth/soft flash colors. In macromode i have no shadow what so ever.
good luck.
fterhaar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2002, 8:12 AM   #3

This is an idea if you use flash pretty close to the subject

http://www.stevesforums.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=3665
KCan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2002, 10:22 AM   #4

I agree with fterhaar.

Never point a flash directly in someones face. You will get blown up highlight. The shiny thing that often are seen in portraits comes from the skins natural grease - thats why models uses powder ind the face before a session. And if aunt Lilly shines when you photograph her - she has prob. creamed up her face to look georgeous to you and all the rest. But not on a photo.

So always bring a bag of flower..he he :lol: :lol: