Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Flash (External)

Old Jan 9, 2005, 6:35 PM   #1

I am considering purchasing either the Panasonic FZ3 (3 megapixel, 12 x opticalzoom,no external flash) or Panasonic FZ20 (5 megapixel, 12 x optical zoom, with boot for external flash).

I am a relatively novice photographer and most pictures will be family, vacation and kids action sports shots. The 3 megapixel will be just fine for the type of pictures I will print, however, I am unsure if I will need an external flash or will the FZ3 meet my needs.

Any suggestions are much appreciated!
teddybear is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 9, 2005, 7:55 PM   #2

teddybear wrote:
Quote:
... most pictures will be family, vacation and kids action sports shots.
Family group and action sport pictures generally need a good flash.
You can also get a slave flash to use with the FZ3.
Also, notice that the hotshoe on the FZ20 is a generic one, allowing you to use a generic external flash in manual or Auto modes only, there is no dedicated ttl ("auto everything") external flash.

KCan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2005, 10:36 AM   #3

Thank you so much for your reply. What is a slave flash? Also, could you expand a little more about the hot shoe being a generic one with no dedicated ttl. (I am a very novice photographer!)
teddybear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2005, 6:22 PM   #4