Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Flash (External)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Aug 3, 2005, 10:43 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 38
Default

Hi all,

I got second hand VIVITAR DF200 flash, and after I read the manual, I got confused. I am not sure if I misunderstand something, or there is something wrong with the unit.

My confusion is aboutusing the "zoomhead". I couldn't find anything that will allow me to change the zoom of the flash from W2 to something else (W1, MID, or T1/2). The zoom indicator is always on W2.

Please advise.

Thanks.
lokosofia is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 3, 2005, 11:33 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
KCan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,625
Default

lokosofia wrote:
Quote:
I couldn't find anything that will allow me to change the zoom of the flash from W2 to something else (W1, MID, or T1/2). The zoom indicator is always on W2.
It should be manual, try to pull it out simply
KCan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 4, 2005, 2:47 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
geriatric's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 326
Default

When in doubt , pull it out. The mans a poet and don`t know it. I have a SUNPAK 3600 hammer head and they call it a ZOOM. which it certainly is not. The only way you can zoom a flash is physically alter the flash angle .


geriatric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 4, 2005, 3:13 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 38
Default

geriatric wrote:
Quote:
I have a SUNPAK 3600 hammer head and they call it a ZOOM. which it certainly is not. The only way you can zoom a flash is physically alter the flash angle .
I tried changing the angle, but the zoom indicatior always stays at W2. According to the manual (http://www.vivitar.com/CustService/d...DF200ManlE.pdf):



[align=left]Distance Table – Using the Zoom Head[/align]

[align=left]The distance table (14) on the back of the flash suggests the[/align]
[align=left]maximum effective flash range for the five (5) zoom positions[/align]
[align=left]- W2, W1, MID, T1 and T2. The zoom positions correlate to[/align]
[align=left]the "35mm equivalence" focal length of your digital camera[/align]
[align=left]lens. (Digital cameras vary greatly. Use these numbers as a[/align]
[align=left]guide.) In general: use W1, W2 for wide angle, MID for[/align]
[align=left]normal (no zoom), and T1, T2 for telephoto. Select the zoom[/align]
[align=left]setting appropriate for your lens positioning. [/align]
[align=left]--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------[/align]
[align=left]6. Next, adjust the zoom position of the DF200 flash head to[/align]
[align=left]match the field of view of your digital camera. Refer to the[/align]
[align=left]Distance Table (14) as a guide. If your digital camera does[/align]
[align=left]not have an optical zoom lens, try the MID position.[/align]

[align=left][/align]
[align=left]BUT HOW ??? Any DF200 owners? Thank you.[/align]
lokosofia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 4, 2005, 4:15 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
KCan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,625
Default

KCan wrote:
Quote:
lokosofia wrote:
Quote:
I couldn't find anything that will allow me to change the zoom of the flash from W2 to something else (W1, MID, or T1/2). The zoom indicator is always on W2.
It should be manual, try to pull it out simply
I mean this (well, it's a photo for Nikon flash head):




KCan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 4, 2005, 8:11 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 38
Default

ROFLMAO

I am an idiot

Thank you KCan:G

BTW - the weather in Mtl almost killed me today
lokosofia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 4, 2005, 8:45 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
KCan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,625
Default

I understand that you don't want to break your flash appart :G

Yeah, don't forget to drink lot of water
KCan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2005, 11:47 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5
Default

Like you i have just taken delivery of df 200 flash gun.Sadly i have to admit that i too have been stumped by how to adjust the settings .I now know,thanks to your post and the helpful advice! Brilliant! thanks to all,cheers Ian
iamz is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 2:16 AM.