Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Flash (External)

Old Mar 28, 2006, 11:57 PM   #1

I have this old Vivitar 285 that I bought around 1980 (Made in Japan) that I want to use with the Pentax ist DLcamera. I read so much about the damaging power of high trigger voltage of the older flash here. Now I have very little knowledge regarding the use of multi-tester but some nice folk here posted a picture of how to use it to check flash trigger voltage. I followed that and my reading is only 5.8 volt, which is less than most other people's finding. From other posts in this forum and botzilla.com, the old Vivitar 285 suppose to have as high as 350 v rating??

How come my reading is so low? Am I doing it right? Can I trust the meter? Unfortunately I don't have another digital meter to varify the result. (Actually, I tried to measure the flash with an older analog multi-tester but for some reason could not get any reading). Here's how I did mine...

Attached Images

bright eyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 29, 2006, 1:10 AM   #2
E.T

Meter seems to be in right area, DCV, lead seems to be in right hole...

That voltage fits to what's here for newer "vintages".
http://www.botzilla.com/photo/strobeVolts.html

Second connection might be in such tight place that tip of analog meter's lead might not fit to it.

Check that batteries are in full charge.
E.T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2006, 8:12 AM   #3

bright eyes wrote:
Quote:
the old Vivitar 285 suppose to have as high as 350 v rating??
The early models

bright eyes wrote:

Quote:
Am I doing it right? Can I trust the meter?
The flash must be ready to fire (flash ready light) and the measurement must not trigger the flash, then you got the right "trigger voltage"

Simply check the meter with a 1,5 Vbattery

bright eyes wrote:
Quote:
(Actually, I tried to measure the flash with an older analog multi-tester but for some reason could not get any reading).