Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Flash (External)

Old May 18, 2003, 10:58 PM   #1
SSD

Default Advice for flash on Fuji S602. I am so confused!!!!

I have been reading the forums re: flash on the s602. I have a Canon 550ex flash that I plan to use on the 602. Is it safe regarding volts. Please excuse my igonrance as I am very new to photography and do not really have a clue about flash photography(trying to learn.) Some of the forums have been very confusing since I do not understand a lot of the technical stuff. :?
Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!
SSD is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 19, 2003, 12:52 AM   #2

Hi SSD,
I do not know this cam well, neither the 550EX. But from what I know (from the review), I deduce this (with all reserve):

- The 550 EX is indeed an excellent (and expensive) flash , but needs to be attached to a Canon camera to allow the use of full features (ttl, auto zoom, etc Ö) .

- Donít worry about the trigger voltage, this flash is a ďmodernĒ flash and sure have low voltage triggering circuit. But you can check it yourself with a voltmeter ( those digital multimeter) . The danger with high triggering voltage is present only with old flash or cheap flash .

- In the case of the use of this flash with the S602, unfortunately , you wonít be able to benefit all those wonderful features:
a) You can only use this flash in manual , full power only ; ie you have to calculate yourself the setting on your camera.
b) You can use the zoom head , it can be operate in manual mode; but take this into account in your aperture calculation since the GN number varies with the zoom head setting (must be indicated in your flash manual)

Itís not very practical to use a flash in manual full power . You may also consider a flash with auto-mode . Itís a very popular ďmodeĒ : you set the flash and the camera to the same aperture, and the sensor (on the flash) manage to give the correct amount (or I must say the correct duration) of the flash.