Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Fujifilm dSLR

Old Dec 11, 2009, 12:03 PM   #1

Default Recommend a card for S3 Pro?

Hi all,

I'm new to dSLR photography and decided to jump straight into the clear blue waters of the Fuji S3 Pro. I've bought one off ebay and now need to get some lenses and cards.

I've just ordered the Nikon 18-70 lens today so now need some cards. I see this question was asked back in 2005 and then the view was that there was no real speed difference between CF and xD. Is that still true with the M+ type of XD cards (I hear there is a type H card "Hi Speed' but can't find one to buy)

What are people using here and any other advice greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Darrragh
darragh is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 11, 2009, 1:43 PM   #2
Administrator

Welcome to the forums, as I see this is your first post here.

Congratulations on the new camera and lens. Those should be terrific choices for jumping into Digital Photography, with the Nikkor 18-70mm well matched to the resolution of that sensor, and that lens is a bit brighter than most lenses you'll find with a similar focal range, with lower Chromatic Aberrations (CA, Purple framing) compared to most lenses with a similar range from wide to long.

I'd make sure to install the latest firmware if it's not up to date. See this page:

http://www.fujifilm.com/products/dig...3pro/fupd.html

Yes... the tests I find for it do seem to indicate that xD Picturecard is faster in it, even though CompactFlash cards being tested were much faster than the xD Picturecards being used (which is a very slow card type). So, the camera's way of writing to CF cards was the problem, not the speed of the cards.

I'd probably go CompactFlash in it anyway and see if a newer card does any better, making sure to update to the latest firmware (as sometimes manufacturers don't advertise bug fixes or changes on their firmware info pages).