Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Old Dec 2, 2006, 11:12 AM   #1

Anyone interested in an F30 thread for tips and tricks? I am a news reporter and photographer who recently purchased an F30 for situations where a DSLR is not appropriate such as theater, meetings and other events where the mirror slap CLICK is disrupting. Below are 1600 ISO comparisions between the F30 and Canon xt in my kitchen, a very tough early morning low light shot, moments apart with settings as identical as I could get them and a run through default Noiseware. The F30 fares very well.

High ISO Tip - Stay in f2.8 as much as possible. It's often better not to zoom and take the crop.

P.S. No arguing, pixel peeping, just how to get usable shots.

F30 shot
Attached Images

pboerger is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 2, 2006, 11:17 AM   #2

Here's the Canon xt shot.
Attached Images

Old Dec 2, 2006, 6:08 PM   #3

I use the 2 sec. timer when I'm shooting handheld still images. It gets rid of the camera shake that can occur when pressing the shutter.

I'll post more as I learn!
janebond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2006, 7:17 PM   #4

Thanks for starting what looks to be an excellent thread.

I liked your sample photos. A couple of points come to mind when using the F-30 for this kind of existing light/no flash shot.

(1) Don't be afraid to us the M position on your F-30's Mode selector. It is actually the equivalent of most camera's P for program mode.

(2) Don't use Auto ISO. by not using "auto iso," youwill keep the camera's selection of high ISO's under control. Instead, set a fixed ISO manually or set an ISO range, which will limit how far the camera can increase the ISO by itself. You get to the ISO selectionsby using the button on the back of your camera labeled "f".