Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Old Dec 28, 2006, 11:01 AM   #1

Hello! Newbie here!

I've had my FinePix S5200 for just over 6 months and love it.

Just wondering if anyone has any tips...for example...when I turn my flash off and use only natural light...if there is any movement at all the pic is blurred. Any way to remedy this? I was told when I bought it that it took excellent pics without blur.

I'd really like to take pics without the flash since they turn out so much better to me!

Thankyou!
funtotakepics is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 28, 2006, 11:43 AM   #2

Taking pictures in natural light, without the flash, forces the camera to use slower shutter speeds. That is the plain and simple fact about natural light photography. The camera must be held perfectly still to get good clear pictures. The best way to accomplish this is to use a tripod or place the camera on something that will provide firm support. Some people use a beanbag.

Generally speaking, for handheld photography, the shutter speed should be at least 1/focal length. That means that if you have zoomed your lens to an equivalent of 100 mm, the absolute minimum shutter speed that you should use for handheld photography would be 1/100 sec.. And that is if you have a good steady hand.
jphess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2006, 2:51 PM   #3
Administrator

Try manually setting your ISO value higher, like 400 or 800. There will be more image noise at higher ISO speeds but that's just the way it works. Some people think it looks more like film as noise often looks like high speed film grain. A higher ISO means a faster shutter speed in low light situations. Be sure to set it back to Auto or 64 when using in bright outdoors.
steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2006, 3:17 PM   #4

Thankyou very much for your help!