Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Old Feb 13, 2007, 7:33 PM   #1

I have been a photographer for over 25 years and shot professionally for many of those years. I have only dabbled in recent years and realize that I have fallen way behind in technology. I have spent the last 2 months catching up reading reviews and forums and gained valuable information from all. Ok, now thats out of the way..... I have read many opinions on the S6000 and the S9100 and have come to this conclusion. I'm going to buy one of them. Everything I've read and seenputs these 2 cameras at the top of the list. The reviews are very scatted though. I have a real hard time trying to figure out why reviewers rave about the canon s3. Side by side in almost every review I've seen, the Fuji cameras take better images up to 200iso and completely blow away all competition 400-1600iso. To me that more than makes up for the IS that the Fujis lack. The fact that they are 132 mm less on the long end supports that argument more. Add to that the manual zoom and focus, wide 28mm lense, low light advantage, Raw mode, metal filter threadsand a high and powerful flash, I just can't figure out what I'm missing.

I am aware of the obvious differences between the 2, but Ido have a few questions...I haveread a few times that the 6000 takes better pictures in low light than the 9100....doesn't make sense. Is this true? If so why? Has the master control knob problem in the 9000 been eliminated in the 9100? Has anyone had any experiences breaking off the LCD in the 9100? Anyone had or heard of any repair or major problems with either of these cameras?

This seems to be the best forum site that I have found. The people here seem to be very honest and intelligent. Thanks in advance for your opinions. Good and bad news is welcome... Thanks

Soundman500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 13, 2007, 8:34 PM   #2