Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Old Jul 13, 2003, 6:51 AM   #1

Default What Pixel Settings ?

Hi, this has probably been done but I have read a few reviews and they talk of noise and a few other things at 6m pixels esp in TIFF mode. As I am a novice, the easy way to find out is to ask you here. What pixels would any of you more experienced S602Z users set it at? I have been told to set it at the higher settings for the best pics, Yes or No?

Thanks in anticipation,

Shane.
Frols is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 13, 2003, 11:30 AM   #2

Default What Pixel Settings ?

To answer the question, the higher the pixel setting the better the photo will reproduce. I take most of my photos at 3m and have no problem printing photos up to 8x10 in size (the printer also has to be able to print at a higher resolution). If you really want to blow it up or print just a small portion of the photo shoot at 6m but I feel that for everyday shots 3m is fine. This is only the opinion of one person and I am sure others will give advice on the subject.
k1par is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2003, 1:50 PM   #3

I agree with k1par. I usually shoot at 3m and get great 4x6 and 5x7 prints. I was trying to use 6m for a while, but when trying to chase my kids and snap pictures the lag time was too long. 6m was great though when I took their portraits and blew them up to 8 x 10.

Good luck!
futbol mom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2003, 1:51 PM   #4

Frols - The absolute best settings concerning resolving ability/lowest level of artifacts are:

ISO: 160
MODE: 6M HIGH(TIFF)
SHARPNESS: SOFT

However, certainly the above is not feasible. YOu would experience:

(1) Slow write times and recovery(Large tiff files)
(2) Shoot only in very good lighting conditions(lowest ISO)
(3) Have tp post process all images in external software(noise reduction and sharpness).(SOFT sharp mode)