Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Old Apr 6, 2007, 12:22 PM   #1

Hi all, new here so please be gentle

Could someone please let me know which of the two Fuji models is better? I'm new to cameras so don't really understand all the real techie stuff, but like with most things electronic I tend to think newer models are better than old ones. Is this applicable to these models?

Hope someone can help!
Raze is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 6, 2007, 3:24 PM   #2

I think it is pretty much a tossup on those two models. The 5700 has more megapixels, but it doesn't have the capability of shooting RAW. If that is an issue for you, then you might want to consider the 5600. But as far as image quality is concerned, I think it would be very difficult to see any significant difference. The 5700 has a next-generation image processor in it, but I don't think you would see a noticeable difference in most cases. If you buy the 5700 it will be a little longer before your model is replaced.
jphess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2007, 5:39 PM   #3

Thanks for the reply.

Is not having RAW a big drawback? What are the benefits of it?

Being a newbie, I'd have thought it boiled down to the extra 2M pixels?

Is the 5700 already released there? It's still not here in the UK..
Old Apr 6, 2007, 9:36 PM   #4

Because a camera has more pixels it does not mean the picture quality is going to be better, on the contrary having more pixels can sonetimes be a drawback.

My belief is anything over 5mp is capable of producing first class pictures, I have two S5600s and as far as I am concerned they take great pictures, the camera can be used by a beginner or an experienced photographer.

My advice is if you can save money and get the S5600 for less than a 5700 do it, you will need to have eyesight like a microscope to tell the difference in picture quality, if any ?.

Regards

Dave.