Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Old Jul 26, 2003, 4:33 PM   #1

Default FinePix S602 Zoom

Hello, I'm looking at getting a FinePix S602 Zoom or something similar...
I came here to ask anyone who has experience with this camera if it is good for the following?

Low Light and Night Time Images
Action Shots

I'm only new to photography but I want to be able to grow and expand, I believe this camera has manual control of everything I might need to change, rather than modes, am I correct?

Digital zoom basically just blows the picture up, which decreases the quality of the image, am I able to use the 6X zoom without any digital zoom comming on?

The specs say that the CCD is a "3.3-million pixel Fujifilm 1/1.7" SuperCCD" then how come at this mode "2832 x 2128 (6M)" it says 6 Mega Pixels? Is this just digital zoom?

What are the thing's I might want to change as I get better with photography? I know of aperature, and shutter speed, are there any others?

Thanks!
Explicit is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 26, 2003, 5:39 PM   #2

I love this camera for action shots. So far it takes the best wrestling photos. I am really happy and can't wait to try it out for football and basketball photos!

Also it takes great regular shots.

Here is a photo of two wrestlers.

I wish I had bought this camera before buying the Minolta Dimage 7i. That was way too complicated for me.
JBsMom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2003, 6:48 PM   #3

Great! How well does it perform for low light shots? Have you tried?
Old Jul 26, 2003, 9:16 PM   #4

I've had This camera - the S602Z for about a year. I love it ! I owned Canon AE1 for about 25 years. This was my first digital.

Low light .. - it won't focus automatically well in low light - as I Understand many digicams won't. However, just switch to manual focus & adjust.