Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Old Aug 4, 2003, 11:18 AM   #1

Default S602z vs. S5000

I just got my S602z and I love it, and then I get online and read about the S5000.... I can't afford the S7000, but the S5000 is the same price as the S602z... Am I missing something? The S5000 seems to be the better camera to me - then again, I am a newbie... Why should I hold on to my S602z instead of returning it and purchasing a S5000 (other than that I have a nice case and tons of SM and CF cards...)
MikeKBrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 7, 2003, 3:27 AM   #2

actually the 7000 is more successor to the 602 than the 5000, with the 7000 & 602 sharing the same body, lens, and general controls. the 5000 is more a new item in fuji's lineup to tackle the "long-zoom" market previously dominated by the olympus 7xx series.. until now, what with toshiba, fuji, and canon soon among others to be releasing their own 10x zoom cameras.

the 5000, despite looking rather slr-like and having some slr-like features and controls, still are not as extensive as the 602's, lacking the flash hotshoe and custom white balance, and as robust a continuous/burst mode than the 602 to name a few that i can remember. however, the 5000 is smaller, has an AF assist lamp, and of course, the new sensor and 10x zoom.

if you already have the 602, certainly i see no reason to change cameras. both cameras have their own strengths above each other, although i would consider it like comparing a bmw 5 series to the 7 series, with the 602 version being the 7 series. if it is just zoom you wanted, you can of course consider adding a teleconverter lens to it, such as the oly tcon17, a quality lens which will provide an extra zoom of 1.7x, raising the max zoom of 210mm to 357mm (in 35mm terms... a 10.2 zoom).