Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Old Dec 18, 2007, 9:10 PM   #1

I have been using S8000FD for about 2 months now and have been unhappy with the image quality in many circumstances.

The attached pictures lack sharpness that I would like to see. These were shot at full zoom /hand held. I have also used a tripod with full zoom and shutter delay to eleminate shake and this seems to help, so I'm concluding that the softness in the wild horse pix is camera shake.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/2192174...7603493336356/

Any comments?
coloradoice is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 18, 2007, 9:14 PM   #2

these were taken under rather harsh conditions --- It was a single digit day.

there was no apparent adverse effect on shutter speed or lens/zoom motion, although the batteries ran low---no surprise there considering the temperature.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/2192174...7603493340142/

Old Dec 19, 2007, 12:01 AM   #3

Are you using it in auto mode ?, Because this cam is manure in auto mode i find that if using the tele end of the zoom you want to use SP mode and up the sutter speed a bit, And you should have took the exposure comp down slightly to compensate for the bright snow, And it focused on the background rather than the rock climber.

Learn to find the camera's best setting's in each scenario and you wont be upset with the results.

Stay away from auto mode like the bubonic plague.

coaldust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2007, 10:48 AM   #4

Thanks for the reply. I have a couple of questions related to you comments.