Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Old Nov 16, 2003, 8:58 PM   #1

Default S5000 Owner Questions...to Veedee & others

I have had a S5000 for about 2 months now and wanted to get some opinions from the other owners of this camera. I'm not a photo expert and mostly use my cam to takes pics of my children.
I'm curious if the other s5000 owners mostly use the "Manual" setting when they shoot (Aperature and Shutter speed). And if so does that seem to give them better shots? I'm guilty of using the "Auto" setting most of the time and the shots mostly seem noisy or a little blurred (w/o flash). I don't want to do alot of post photo editing either, but just want decent pics that can be printed when needed in 5x7 or lower.

Part of my problem is my first digital cam was an Olympus 2100 UZ. I can't believe I sold it thinking I could buy one of these cheap $150 cams and get the same image quality (After trying 2 of the cheap point and shoot cams I ended up with the S5000). The 2100 could not take a bad shot. It could take shots all day w/o the flash and in low light that would come out perfect, clear and crisp.

Anyway, I like the s5000 and want to make sure I'm doing everything possible to get the best pics of it. I don't really want to go to raw mode, but it sounds like that is one way to get better quality. Does anyone notice an improvement with the 6M mode vs. the 3M mode?

Any suggestions would be appreciated...
creosote77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 16, 2003, 10:13 PM   #2

I can't tell a bit of difference with 6mp vs 3mp mode. Why not use the flash? If you use auto indoors.....try using manual focus.
Goofas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2003, 2:08 AM   #3

Default Re: S5000 Owner Questions...to Veedee & others

Quote:
Originally Posted by creosote77
[...]
I'm guilty of using the "Auto" setting most of the time and the shots mostly seem noisy or a little blurred (w/o flash).