Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Old Jan 1, 2010, 2:33 PM   #1

Default S200-EXR: Terrible noise in the samples?! Any manual users?

Hi there,

I'm new to this forum, although I've been using this great site for several years now for camera shopping. Anyway, just to explain if I missed this question elsewhere in the forum..

I am about to purchase the S200-EXR, based on reviews and sample images from this and a few other sites. My only concern however is the noise levels in some of the sample images here on this site (sample images)

The standard outdoor/zoom samples look fine but some 'mode' shots seem to have an unacceptable level of noise, in particular the sports and portrait samples. I was most shocked though by the 'Profocus' shot, taken outdoors.

Having said that, I would still buy this camera if someone could confirm that this noise issue is confined mainly to 'modes', as I'm assuming they are automated and give you no choice in ISO. I've been using the Canon Powershot SX10 for the past year and it's a similar story there, so I always used it in manual mode. I'm hoping this is also the case with the S200EXR. The reason I have doubts is because most reviews actually praise these modes as being the best thing about this camera!

Could someone please advise?

Cheers (and Happy New Year)!

Joanna
fibbling is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 3, 2010, 10:57 AM   #2

Joana-

Welcome to the Forum. We're pleased you dropped by.

I am a S-200 user and I can assure you that the Scene/Specialized modes are much more prone to showing noise because the Scene or Specialized Mode takes over the ISO setting. In normal operations I have not found noise to be a substantial problem, except at the higher ISO settings. Then Noiseware has been able to address that problem.

All in all I have enjoyed the camera a lot. Have a great day.

Sarah Joyce
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote