Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Old Apr 27, 2010, 8:20 PM   #1

Default HS10 Sports Shooting Test

Today I had the chance for 4 hours to shoot images of a USTA Female Tennis Tournament. I AM NOT A PRO and did not expect to come away with 100s of Pro level images. I was doing this as a test of the camera to see what it would do.

- I tried the following modes for shooting high speed frames 10 --> 3fps each using P, S and Sports Mode. I also had the high speed shooting mode set in camera menu

- The card was a class 6 micro SDHC in an SDHC adapter.

- I had to get used to the cameras shutter as when I pushed the shutter it seems to take a seconds to even as long as 1.5 seconds before the action started to record thus missing the first half of an action batch. After shooting for a while I got used to pressing button earlier and got images I could use.

- It is not the kind of focusing system for the high speed action pro sports photographer......

- What I found worked best for me after the first hour of testing was to shoot in sports mode at 3fps.... that would usually produce at least 1 images I wanted to save in each burst.

- I did wish many times that it had a 3fps continuous burst mode that was longer in length say 30 frames... so I could follow the player more and get more shots to choose from

- I also disliked the fact that all the frames showed up in the view finder when the burst was finished shooting and stayed their until they were finished writing to the card coupled with the screen going completely blank before I coukd shoot again. Sure I know you have to wait but I wish I could keep following the action on the camera and preset the focus etc to get the next batch ready to shoot quicker.