Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Old May 23, 2010, 3:18 PM   #1

Default Need help with reds/Fuji HS10

I'm not exactly sure how to use this camera in terms of getting a nice red flower that's not blown to high heaven. I just got it last week and I'm a relative noob in terms of manual shooting. In this shot, it's a heavily overcast day so the WB is "shade", I've already taken the WB Fine Tune down a notch on both sliders, Fuji Color is set to std, and I'm thinking I needed to set shutter speed higher and set ISO lower (that it's overdoing itself at 200). "Auto" for this type of shot doesn't work at all, the cam way overdoes the ISO and all detail goes away.

Any thoughts for an idiot newbie?

Thanks for any input!
Anna
AnniM is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 23, 2010, 5:36 PM   #2

reduce color. it's in the menu. Don't use auto at all. Use p for beginners. I use mannual mode and I get tons of colors and contrast. I think that's how I like it. In automatic mode, you can't adjust many things. Use p mode to give you more control over the camera.

Last edited by Cresho; May 23, 2010 at 5:40 PM.
Cresho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2010, 8:55 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cresho View Post
reduce color. it's in the menu. Don't use auto at all. Use p for beginners. I use mannual mode and I get tons of colors and contrast. I think that's how I like it. In automatic mode, you can't adjust many things. Use p mode to give you more control over the camera.
Cresho - thanks for your response. I rarely use AUTO and never, ever for flowers - this WAS shot manual, and I already DID reduce color; my OP said I'd already taken the WB Fine Tune down a notch on both sliders, Fuji Color is set to std (I've already figured out that Chrome is NOT what I'm looking for with this ).