Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Old Dec 10, 2003, 5:54 AM   #1

Default S7000: WORTH TO GO 12MP

:?: Hi, this is my very first post here in this forum. So, hi everyone.

I bought a S7000 around a month ago and I am very pleased with it (so far).

A few days ago I was trying to notice the difference between the 12MP and the 6MP resolutions taking some identical shots, but only changing the resolution. Ok, I am not a photo pro or something like that, but to me they looked identical. The only big difference is that 12MP eats memory like hell in comparison with 6MP.

Is there any real difference in terms of quality? What should I look to see the difference if any? Is it worth to use 12MP in the S7000?

Thanks a lot.

[img]c:\temp\1.jpg[/img]
[img]c:\temp\2.jpg[/img]
[img]c:\temp\3.jpg[/img]
[img]c:\temp\4.jpg[/img]
jmdavila is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 10, 2003, 6:49 AM   #2

Hi.

First upload those pictures somewhere and post the URL between [img][/img]. We're not able to see your hard drive from all the way here
veedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2003, 8:43 AM   #3

The general answer would be no. The 12mp is a interpolation of where the camera believes more pixels should be and it does not necessarly enhance the picture. You should remain with 6mp setting for your shots. Fuji uses the 12mp as an advertisement and marketing scheme.
gibsonpd3620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2003, 2:40 AM   #4

Default An actual "users" POV

Quote:
Originally Posted by gibsonpd3620
The general answer would be no. The 12mp is a interpolation of where the camera believes more pixels should be and it does not necessarly enhance the picture. You should remain with 6mp setting for your shots. Fuji uses the 12mp as an advertisement and marketing scheme.